Golden Press

Diary Entry: A Dose of Inspiration for Journos Everywhere


After working on my first web brief today about a car accident that resulted in a fatality I came across this fresh breath of air. It’s something a young journalist like myself takes in with great inspiration. Also, learning that a woman I have stalked (such a strong word. Let’s just say I like reading about correspondents abroad, so I tend to follow their stories and stuff) for an entire year is now moving as a foreign correspondent from The Washington Post to NPR (Leila Fadel). 🙂 🙂 🙂 Too many smiles to contain myself. I don’t know, but today just felt like a great day all because of the Internet and this new found journo world I have entered as I hate to say: “An Adult.”

Back to the business. I have found some fluff to get me through the summer and to inspire me to keep dreaming of my future career as a reporter. This new site Eye on Chi once published a series of People with Passion, which focuses on Chicago journos and how they turned their passion into reality. I posted it to one of my social media sites. After a while I came across Mary Schmich and after reading how she made it to Chicago, I thought wow, my journey is going to be a great one:

(Content below is from Eye on Chi)

In person, Schmich is as diverse an experience as is her column. She is soft-spoken yet tough, measured yet lively, and of course, a great storyteller.

“My editor in Orlando was moving to San Francisco at the time to edit the San Francisco Examiner, and he offered me a job. He offered me a column. I said, ‘I’ve got this job offer in Chicago. I’m going to go up and talk to them. But I’ll probably come to San Francisco,’ because why wouldn’t you go to San Francisco? He leaned back in his chair and said, ‘You’re never coming to San Francisco.’ He said, ‘You’re gonna get to Chicago, and you’re gonna walk up Michigan Avenue, and you’re gonna see that Tribune Tower, and you are going to think I am somewhere.’ And that’s pretty much how it happened.”

I read this and I gasped for air. I smiled for joy. My heart felt lifted and I was happy. I don’t know what it is about this paragraph. Or maybe I do. It’s inspiring. I’m grateful to read about how this journo, who’s been in the game for 20 years got her start. Isn’t that the first thing we ask when at an internship or job. We meet the veteran/newbie journo. We want to know their story or their journey. We meet the editor and we want to know his/her story and journey. We meet the Publisher/Editor-in-Chief/Executive Editor (whatever fancy title nowadays) and we are dying to know how they got to the seat of decision maker. If you don’t care to know. I am surely curious. I imagine my journey a little different, but all the same. I imagine the seat I could end up in or not. I imagine all the possibilities that will come my way. Will it be just a visit to a city or future editor offering me a job to go with. Who Knows? But I am so ready.

July 10, 2012 - Posted by | Fun Topics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

