Golden Press

#AugustWritingChallenge – Day 3 – Connection


I didn’t realize how important a connection is when meeting people and why it’s important to stay connected until my 20’s.

Short story. I am known for holding grudges. I am also known for cutting someone out of my life once I feel used, like they haven’t contributed to my growth, we’re just on two different levels, and we will never get along (I have a unique personality, lol).

I learned at an early age I don’t need a lot of friends. I just need a few good ones and some people who think I’m really nice and friendly to keep me in the loop. I am not a very open person when it comes to letting people in my life or back in my life. I wish I could say I’m working on this, but I am not.

Anyway I think I was in the 7th grade at Istrouma Middle Magnet in Baton Rouge. My friend had went from being a tom-boy to a sexy-kitten (lol) in just one year. I didn’t have a problem with that, but I did have a problem with her hanging out with one of the most two-face girls in our grade. I can’t remember what happen, but the girl who my friend was now friends with and I  had gotten into it. She was just messy and that’s one thing I am not about in a girl group. I don’t do gossip, mess, or talking behinds a girlfriends back. I’m too honest for that. 🙂

So I decided to cut my friend off too, but without mentioning it to her. I begin to hang out with other girls at school and some of our home boys (which are still my friends today.) Now this friend and I had done cross-country together. We would go to practice after school and run together. We took classes together. We set on the bus together. Not anymore. Oh yes I had become a bad friend and made my best friend an ex-friend.

One day she came to me at recess. It could be gym class, I don’t remember. She wanted to make up and asked what she had done wrong. She asked why was I acting funny. I had to let her know I was not feeling her new friend. We made up. 11 years later and we’re still friends. We just had that type of connection.

I have had friends that I hadn’t spoken to because of distance, economic situations, and so forth, but when we get on the phone again or hang out it’s like old times. I am highly blessed for these friends who listen to me when I’m rambling, give advice, or the tables have turned and I need advice.

Now that’s a connection. I have had some of my best times with my friend. She knows every boy I ever liked. She’s seen me cry though I wouldn’t tell her the real reason I was crying she wrapped her third trimester belly around me and hugged me. I hugged her back.  She went to the woods with me and danced on a wooden bench to a live country band. Now you know how the Black community relates to country music. How many country songs do you know? I have learned some over the years, but I couldn’t tell you a favorite artist.

The night she came home from the hospital with her daughter I went over to spend the night until her baby’s father got off. (didn’t like that brotha that much, but that’s another post) I took up for her in middle school. I listened to her talk about her relationship with her baby daddy.

In all if you hit it off with a person no matter values, religion, other friends, situations, arguments, or disliking of boyfriends hold on to good friends and good connections. Hold on to people who know you and don’t judge you. Hold on to people who allow you do be the clown, weird, and moody. (I’m moody)

Throughout the years we meet a lot of people and sometimes you don’t alway hit it off. Often our best friends become college roommates, college friends from organizations we joined, and high school friends.

I’m happy to say I’ve had a great best friend since middle school and we still have a connection. Yesterday I spent my entire lunch hour on the phone with her while she drove from school to home to meet her daughter. I listened to her curse at traffic, beep her horn, and laugh at her mom laughing at our conversation. And when I got off the phone with her I told her I loved her with endearment. I was saying I love you to my sister who forgave me in the 7th grade for being a bad friend.

August 3, 2012 - Posted by | Fun, Fun Topics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

