Golden Press

Diary Entry: Undercover Journos and Motivation


What’s the true meaning of calling yourself a journalist?

How many of us are motivated by Pulitzers, Big Media (NY Times, LA Times, Wash Post, and etc.), money, status, and fame? I wonder how many people pick up a paper and write a journo to say thank you for uncovering this or reporting about this. It made a different. Someone realized that we needed this.

Not that exploitation type of journalism, but that true human connection. Does that exists? I’m new to the game, so I don’t know how it works. I don’t know what it means to change someone’s mind, to change how someone sees the world/issue, or to make someone’s voice feel important. I don’t know what that is.

Has many journos jobs become a job? Is finding a story and reporting on a blow fish just part of the game. Am I ready to enter a world where I just might have to BS some days as a journalist. Will I have to compromise why I wanted to be a journo to make it to the top of the ladder.

I met a lady who talked about how journos think they are change agents. She said we had convinced ourselves we were doing some good, when were really no better than a politician. Woe! Her words hit hard. I was a senior in college. A few months from receiving my degree in journalism and this woman had said some profound words. Some people may not think so, but honestly she was speaking volumes. It made me think of how I want to be perceived by the audience I am delivering news too. The voices I claim to represent. The ones I am uncovering the truth for.

I had to think to myself….. was she right. Is this true. Will I become one of the thirsty bloodhounds fighting for an A-1 story? Fighting to make people realize that story I wrote about affects them. It pertains to them. They should be reading it because it was written well.  I spent hours on that story.

Or in all honesty is there really a job out their where you are a change agent. The work you do is bigger than you and the media outlet. People want to speak to you because they see honestly. They feel like you have taken your shoes off and tried theirs on. What motivates a journalist to go to work and report? Is it the mortgage, education loans, kids, comfort, fame, money, and paper’s reputation for being the best. What motivates a journalist to put their life, reputation, and words on the line?

What will motivate me 10 years from now to report to work or continue my career as a journo?

August 6, 2012 - Posted by | Fun, Fun Topics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

