Golden Press

#December Challenge Day 1


I’ve been considering deleting this blog. But like everything else in my life it’s sometimes hard for me to let go of things. Today is December the 1st, 2012. Instead I have decided to do my own challenge as I await my new year’s resolution. I am beginning with today. As I begin to take the next steps into growing into a better me. My journo journey along with my spiritual/physical journey will be documented here for the next 31 days.

Today I found myself smitten with my best friend.

I ate a great Tuscan chicken subway sandwich with spinach and crunchy tomatoes.

I watched the OKC vs Hornets game in an empty digital media room.

I begin my first day as a digital media intern with The Advocate (BR). (My sixth internship.)

I completed my second day as a returned retail staffer to Macy’s.

I talked to my father about cleaning the house that I grew up since the age of 8. (It has felt like a desert since my mother died 6 years ago.) I’m 23 now.

Today I thought about my future as a journo.

I read a few stories on The Advocate’s website. I read stories on The Washington Posts’ website.

I’ve had 3 months to think about how I could have made better decisions with money, career, and love.

I’ve had 3 months to find a job. I’ve emailed countless resumes. I’ve had many interviews.

The question still remains. #Have I done enough to secure myself? Enough to see my plan become a reality?

In 3 months I’ve cut ties with my past. Dared to love someone I have admired since middle school. Promised myself renewal and honesty always. Cried because I felt like I was more than $12.50 an hour. Screamed because I can’t imagine myself sitting in an office pecking on a keyboard. Felt foolish for wasting money on materialistic things that I no longer have or can fit. Prayed that I would have a little sunlight soon. Was afraid to open the mail (b/c I know I don’t have the money for my first loan payment due next Friday $214.00 and there’s no more grace) .

But I’ve also lived. I’m so humble. I don’t feel entitled. I don’t feel like I’m owed. I don’t feel like my mistakes have hindered the end result. I don’t believe it’s over. My job that will allow me to experience and enjoy other cultures exist. My first book will be written. And I will not shout when I meet fate. I will do what others have done for me. No one in my present will go hungry. Advice will flow from my lips. I will take my own money to give back to those who dream too.

#I’m living and I feel so great! I am humbled.

December 2, 2012 - Posted by | December Challenge

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

