Golden Press

January Challenge Day#12 Hours


I had a professor in college who told me he went to bed around midnight only to awake at 5 every morning. I wondered what would possess a person to work off of less than 8 hours of sleep. How could he function. It’s not until now I realize he accomplishes more in his days/hours than the average human. What drives a person to stay up working or doing something, which they know won’t allow them time to rest.

We’ve all heard the saying, “I’ll rest when I’m dead.”

Yesterday, a good friend introduced me to Eric Thomas and he discussed hours. What do you do with your hours. We only get so many a day, week, month, and year. If we could add up all our hours, what would the sum of accomplishments be?

It’s so easy to put things off to the next day what we know can be completed in five minutes. I’ve never thought about time as hours. I’ve had some of my best times when entertainment such as TV wasn’t occupying my minutes.

My best lessons have been through literature and thoughtful conversation. At the end of the day I never was one who enjoyed talking on the phone while growing up. I can remember having friend-girls call my house in elementary and telling my mom to tell them I was busy. The older I got I realized as important as it is to be active it is also important to develop strong relationships with people. At the end of the day I can call on some of those same people (I hope one day) for encouragement, a favor, advice, or just for some perspective on life.

No matter how busy I was in college I don’t regret it. It showed how time could be valuable to growth. It showed me how things are accomplished. It made me work hard. There were times in college where I felt like time was wasted, but not as much as these last 4 months. I’ve done a lot of thinking. I’ve done a lot of wishing. I’ve done a lot of reflection. Now I just want to get back to a lot of working. I’m trying to find a balance. Though, my plan of action for after graduation didn’t workout. It doesn’t mean I have to stop planning. It doesn’t mean I have to stop setting goals. It’s the way I’m accustom to living my life.

January 13, 2013 - Posted by | January Challenge

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

