Golden Press

Things come full circle several times in life…..


I had to return home to Baton Rouge, La. to get to New York. Washington, D.C. wasn’t enough or perhaps I didn’t make the right connections. It could be I didn’t take the right opportunities. Roanoke, Va surely wouldn’t bring me here. It was an 6-month internship, that my cousin pointed out to me in The Advocate’s Sunday paper. The 6-month internship, that I asked to be extended, turned into eight wonderful months of growing and connecting with a woman who had worked at The Advocate since her 20s. She had met her husband there and decided to keep working there after his death. Months after ending my internship with The Advocate and completing another internship with Newsday; she retired.

Today and a year later. I am still indebted to the Baton Rouge community who raised me. They have always been my biggest supporters. The email that was sent to the woman who would make the decision to hire me as a freelancer at Fox News still rings bells.

This past week, which hasn’t been the best one has fueled my dreams. It has ignited new goals. I have decided once again to let the universe shape outcomes out of my control  because they’ve been weighting to heavy on my soul.

I am afraid, but I am wiser. I don’t know what’s next, but I do know what I want. I have a new found hope. I have a deep appreciation for God and how he uses people in our lives. We should respect all those who are placed in our lives. We should take in all knowledge. We should listen to them, even when what they are saying doesn’t interest us at all.

September 5, 2014 - Posted by | Diary Entry

1 Comment »

  1. Great post like always. Really great inspiration!

    Comment by Times Diary | September 8, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

