Golden Press

Mental Reality


As I contemplate pursuing a career in another field. I laugh at myself. Just a year ago I had a full-time job working with kids. Now I am searching for full-time jobs to work with kids again. How life comes full circle. Is God trying to tell me something?

I honestly applied to a job that included me in the affirmative action category after answering a question about my gender and ethnicity. Great to know affirmative action may get my resume and cover letter a read over.

There’s so many grown up things I need to do. I feel so uninspired at the moment. But I’m smiling because I’m so happy. Just the other day I sat on the train remembering driving up to New York City. I could had made a decision to stay home. I could have decided to stay in Washington, D.C.

Instead I hopped in my Jeep and took a chance on a 10-week internship. Along the way I have thought of every career that I would possibly be good at. I haven’t committed myself to journalism because I’m afraid to plan.

It seems every time I plan something, Life tells me NO! This is not how things are going to go. I laugh because in all I am so happy. Even on my down and low days I am still happy. Now only if I could use that light for inspiration. I’m drained.

A lady told me months ago once she hit 25, it was like she looked up and she was 30. She said she doesn’t remember anything between 25 to 30. I think about that when planning my next move. I am seeking progession and stability, but on the other hand I am seeking adventure, freedom, and a life changing experience that I know is not here in the United States.

My travel bug is on a mission to satisfy a thirst. I’m just getting started with NYC, but if someone offered me something outside of the U.S. I wouldn’t think twice about moving. Student Loans, Friends, #1 Media Market, and all. I’ll be out this ‘bish.’

So what is it going to be as I struggle to write about an impactful experience. As I struggle to write these cover letters that I’ll rather copy and paste. Where does my passion lie? Is it dead? Perhaps waiting on a fiery experience… This is my mind’s daily reality. I’m day dreaming about village and cultural values that contrast with my own. I want to be 20 hours away and 6,000 miles living….

September 27, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

